Posted by: benepuella | April 3, 2012

April 2, 2012

Day 2

For breakfast I drank green tea with a bowl of sprouted quinoa with a pear, handful of blueberries, cinnamon, and a tablespoon of maple syrup.

As a snack I ate a handful of almonds and finished off the broccoli salad. For lunch, I ate a salad consisting of spring mix, spinach, 1/2 pear, 1/2 an orange, and a handful of blueberries. I wanted to eat some of the Mary’s Gone Cracker’s I bought on Saturday but couldn’t find them so I ate a serving of Archer Farms Organic Blue Corn with Flaxseed Tortilla Chips. There was one leftover chicken nugget from my daughter’s lunch so I ate that for a little protein. The chicken nuggets are made by me and are seasoned with herbamare and coated in teff flour.

When I got hungry for a snack later in the afternoon, I went on a hunt looking for the Mary’s Gone Crackers. I found them in an unpacked bag on the floor of my pantry. Yes, my pantry is that cluttered and disorganized that I didn’t notice an unpacked bag of groceries. When I came home from the store on Saturday, I was in a hurry while unpacking them and didn’t get all of the pantry goods unpacked because I needed to feed the baby. So for a snack I ate a serving of Mary’s Gone Crackers and a cup of green tea.

For dinner, I made Veggie Burgers. I subbed coconut oil in place of the oil listed, quinoa flakes instead of rolled oats (I didn’t have any on hand), and ground flax seed for bread crumbs. I usually chop my veggies using my vitamix but the baby was napping and this thing is really loud. After getting started on the red onion, I couldn’t help but pull out the blender. It is so much easier using it and I have a hard time chopping my veggies small enough so that the burger doesn’t fall apart. I always quadruple the recipe so that I have plenty of burgers to put in the freezer. It makes the long list of ingredients worth it.

To top my burger, I made  ketchup using tomato paste and a few seasonings. For one side, I made a salad using spring mix, spinach, grape tomatoes, carrots, and homemade italian dressing. As a substitute for fries I made baked potato chips using a russet potato which I sliced and tossed in grapeseed oil, onion powder, garlic powder, and sea salt.

I was ready for some chocolate today so I made dessert. These Raw “Thin Mint” Balls are so yummy. They are like a larabar consisting of walnuts, cocoa, dates, and vanilla and mint extract. I love the fact that I don’t have to bake them so they are ready as soon as I have the ingredients blended. This is the second time I made them and I opted to make them bite size this time instead of the larger balls that I made last time. I ate five all together but had two while shaping the so only three made it to the plate :). I put the rest in the freezer to enjoy for the next day or two.

It was a long day but I even managed to workout to my 30 Day Shred DVD tonight after the kids went to bed. I didn’t make it to bed until 11 o’clock and probably didn’t fall asleep until closer to 11:30 so I’m definitely going to try to get in my workout earlier tomorrow.

 


Leave a comment

Categories